Dave Kinsey Studio Visit

It seems like an eternity since I was in Los Angeles with my camera & it’s taken me even longer to find the time to put some words and pictures down about my road trip out of the big city to spend some time with one of my favourite artists.

I was originally meeting Kinsey, the man behind BLK/MRKT Studios, in LA for a catch-up & to have a look at things were progressing for his upcoming show at the Joshua Liner gallery but an ash cloud from Iceland grounded my flight out of the UK. By the time I did eventually get to LA Kinsey had relocated to the mountains to enjoy the solitude, wildlife & with views like this who can blame him.

To my delight Kinsey & Jana invited me up to their mountain retreat for a couple of days so after overcoming my initial fears of driving on the right hand side of the road & in LA traffic I made my way 220 miles north in my ‘compact hire car’.

The surroundings were simply stunning in every direction, mountains, forests, streams but most of  peace.  It was easy to see why anyone would favour these surroundings over the humdrum of the city.

We spent the evening on the deck chatting, drinking cold beers & taking in the views & wildlife followed by hearty home cooked meal, thanks Jana.

The next day we made our way around the windy mountain roads up into the Sequoia National park where we took in numerous breathtaking vistas & wondered at some pretty huge tree’s & even some brown bears.

Before having lunch Kinsey took me to his studio space where work was well under way on some 20 canvases.  Even though the works were at various stages of completion it was evident that this was a strong body of work. Kinseys trademark line work, bold colours and abstract backgrounds were clear to see together with some new imagery.  I can only imagine how great this show will look when it’s hung.  Here are a few snaps that I took during my visit but if you are in New York between 09th September & 9th October you should go and see the finished work for yourself.

A big thank you to Kinsey & Jana for their hospitality.

Dave Kinsey – ‘New Works’
September 9th to October 9th, 2010
Address
Joshua Liner Gallery
548 West 28th Street
3rd Floor
New York,
NY 10001

Comments are closed.

